HD-Vinyls(Mono) 24/96 (RCA) Richard Strauss – Elektra (Highlights) (Inge Borkh, Fritz Reiner)

front-small-boxsetMany thanks to Jean-Luc for the vinyl
Fritz Reiner’s fabled 1956 excerpts from Strauss’s Elektra not only live up to their legend via RCA’s superb “Living Stereo” remastering, but attest to the conductor’s unmatched synchronicity between his orchestra and, arguably, the most commanding, involved rendering of the title role and Orestes on disc. Inge Borkh’s powerful, laserlike timbre and intense vocal acting are beyond praise in the touching Recognition Scene.

Composer: Richard Strauss
Performer: Inge Borkh, Frances Yeend, Paul Schöffler
Orchestra: Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Fritz Reiner
Vinyl (1956)
Number of Discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: RCA
DR-Analysis: DR 12
Size: 403 MB
Scan: yes
Server: FileFactory

This recording is a true classic. Reiner is at least the equal of anyone else that I have heard in conveying dramatic thrust, power and cumulative intensity (in particular, he is truly masterful in the way he builds up to and shapes the big orchestral climaxes), but, at the same time, keeps the textures balanced and glowingly transparent, even in the loudest and/or most complex passages, and also conveys lyrical beauty and tenderness where the music calls for it, notably in Elektra’s recognition scene. The singing by Borkh and Schoeffler is likewise superb (they were leading exponents of their roles). A “must have” for Strauss lovers.


  Elektra, Op. 58  
A1 Allein! Weh, Ganz Allein (Elektra’s Soliloquy) 9:29
A2 Elektra! Schwester! (Finale) 9:39
B Was Willst Du, Fremder Mensch? (Recognition Scene) 21:29


 Analyzed folder: /96k(Mono) Strauss – Elektra (Highlights) – Borkh, Reiner
 DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
 DR11        -0.94 dB     -17.81 dB     A1 Allein. Weh, Ganz Allein (Elektra’s Soliloquy).aif
 DR11        -0.29 dB     -15.01 dB     A2 Elektra. Schwester. (Finale).aif
 DR13        -0.43 dB     -19.36 dB     B Was Willst Du, Fremder Mensch (Recognition Scene).aif
 Number of files:    3
 Official DR value:    DR12



  • Art Direction – J. J. Stelmach
  • Baritone Vocals [Orest] – Paul Schoeffler
  • Chorus – Chicago Lyric Theatre Chorus
  • Composed By – Richard Strauss
  • Conductor – Fritz Reiner
  • Cover – Judy Teener
  • Engineer – Lewis Layton
  • Orchestra – Chocago Symphony Orchestra
  • Producer – Richard Mohr
  • Reissue Producer – John Pfeiffer
  • Remastered By – Edwin Begley
  • Soprano Vocals [Chrysothemis] – Francis Yeend
  • Soprano Vocals – Inge Borkh
Recorded April 14, 16, 1956


Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory

PW: LaWally


9 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls(Mono) 24/96 (RCA) Richard Strauss – Elektra (Highlights) (Inge Borkh, Fritz Reiner)

Leave a Reply