Hi-End HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Telarc) Joseph Jongen, Cesar Franck – Symphonie Concertante – Fantasie in A – Pastorale (Murray, De Waart)

I must say that I knew I would be a fan of this disc before I ever heard it. The repertory for organ and orchestra is depressingly small compared to other instruments, but this piece by Joseph Jongen certainly blows many of them out of the water. The combination of the organ with the orchestra is perfect, and there is such diversity in how various sounds merge that the listener will be excited each time s/he listens to this piece. Also, Michael Murray does a fantastic job of interpretting this masterpiece. He commands the Davies Hall instrument with finesse. The orchestra, directed by de Waart, is equally adept. It is a mind-blowing display of fantastic composition on Jongen’s part, and equally fantastic capability by the performers. Bravo!! Also, the Franck pieces are a nice addition.

Composer: César Franck, Joseph Jongen
Performer: Michael Murray
Orchestra: San Francisco Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: Edo de Waart

Vinyl 1984
Number of Discs: 1

Format: FLAC

Label: Telarc
DR-Analysis: DR 12
Size: 2.16 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FF

Michael Murray plays the Fratelli Ruffatti Organ at Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco

  Jongen – Symphonie Concertante For Organ & Orchestra  
A1 I. Allegro, Molto Moderato 8:06
A2 II. Divertimento: Molto Vivo 8:14
A3 III. Molto Lento: Lento, Misterioso 11:09
B1 IV. Toccata (Moto Perpetuo): Allegro Moderato 6:16
B2 Franck – Fantasie In A 13:25
B3 Franck – Pastorale 8:10

Analyzed folder: /192k Jongen – Symphonie Concertante For Organ And Orchestra – Murray, De Waart
DR Peak RMS Filename

DR13 -0.61 dB -18.69 dB A1 Jongen – Symphonie Concertante For Organ and Orchestra – I. Allegro, Molto Moderato.aif
DR13 -4.14 dB -21.82 dB A2 Jongen – Symphonie Concertante For Organ and Orchestra – II. Divertimento- Molto Vivo.aif
DR13 -1.64 dB -21.11 dB A3 Jongen – Symphonie Concertante For Organ and Orchestra – III. Molto Lento- Lento, Misterioso.aif
DR12 -0.61 dB -15.22 dB B1 Jongen – Symphonie Concertante For Organ and Orchestra – IV. Toccata (Moto Perpetuo)- Allegro Moderato.aif
DR13 -1.18 dB -19.72 dB B2 Franck – Fantasie In A.aif
DR6 -12.11 dB -22.47 dB B3 Franck – Pastorale.aif

Number of files: 6
Official DR value: DR12



  • Art Direction – Ray Kirschensteiner
  • Composed By – César Franck (tracks: 5, 6), Joseph Jongen (tracks: 1 to 4)
  • Conductor – Edo de Waart (tracks: 1 to 4)
  • Edited By – Elaine Martone
  • Engineer [Recording] – Jack Renner
  • Liner Notes – John Judson McGrody
  • Orchestra – The San Francisco Symphony Orchestra (tracks: 1 to 4)
  • Organ – Michael Murray
  • Photography By [Cover] – Jane Lidz

 The premiere recording of the Ruffatti organ in Davies Symphony Hall. 


Ripping Info


A few words about the way i’ve been cleaning vinyl records and post-processing rips, since summer 2017: After washing and recording the vinyl, I use a kind of mixed cleaning of the rip, which consists of mostly manual rather than automatic de-clicking, (the latter only on unimportant passages, such as end of the groove, beginning and end of the songs, applause, speaking). I often leave the rips almost rough, de-clicking only the silences between the tracks. Never de-noising or/and EQ, as unfortunately some do. I prefer to hear a bit of quiet noises of the clean groove, that contain something of the music, rather than generate clinically clean files that may, eventually, sound a bit dead. If you do not agree, do not download my rips and buy instead digital files or CDs.
When I listen to music I “don’t hear” any noise: I enjoy the music 😀
I do not make rips for headphones!

  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96 & 24/192: Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5


10 thoughts on “Hi-End HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Telarc) Joseph Jongen, Cesar Franck – Symphonie Concertante – Fantasie in A – Pastorale (Murray, De Waart)”

Leave a Reply