HD-Vinyl 96/24 (EMI) Aaron Copland – Symphony No. 3 (Mata)

With the famous “Fanfare for the common man” at beginning of part 4. Again the evidence, that a digital production sounds on vinyl much much better than on CD. Eduardo Mata’s recording of the epic Third Symphony of Copland is one of the very best performances of this work on record.

# Composer: Aaron Copland
# Orchestra: Dallas Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Eduardo Mata
# Vinyl (1986)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: EMI
# DR-Analysis: DR 14

# Size: 1.15 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

Bernstein recorded this symphony twice: first in the 1960s for CBS and later, a live performance from Dec. 1985 for DG, both with his NY Philharmonic.

Although the 1985 Bernstein DG is a must if you even remotely appreciate this symphony, Mata’s May 1986 recording for EMI is an essential alternative approach. Mata does not underline every single grand passage and does not exaggerate any of the climaxes, making it sound somewhat understated when compared to the 1985 Bernstein. But Mata succeeds in making the music exciting and bold without exaggeration and he is especially good at bringing out the simplicity of the lyrical aspects of the symphony in a manner superior to Bernstein. The Dallas SO does not play with the virtuosity of the 1985 NY Phil, but it plays on the same level as the 1960s NY Phil and sounds even better than Slatkin’s St. Louis orchestra, Levi’s Atlanta orchestra, Judd’d New Zealand orchestra and even Oue’s Minnesota orchestra. The recorded sound is outstanding, definitely superior to the 1985 DG recording, where the strings glare and there is an overall glassiness to the sound. Only Oue has better sound than Mata, but Mata’s performance is far superior.

This release also comes with Danzon Cubano, played with just the right amount of verve and punch, and El Salon Mexico, which is not given the red-blooded reading that Bernstein gave it in 1951 with the NYPO on Sony (together with Copland’s own performance of his Piano Concerto, with Bernstein conducting), but is instead played as a light and humorous work, which is perhaps how Copland intended it. Mata’s El Salon, like his Copland Third, is a great alternative to Bernstein’s reading, even if it does not exceed it in excitement. If you are a fan of Copland or of Eduardo Mata’s recorded legacy, you should not be without this record.

Analyzed folder: /96kAaCop_S3_Mat/96k Copland – Symphony 3 – Mata
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR14        -1.20 dB     -22.17 dB     A1 El salon Mexico.wav
DR15        -1.68 dB     -21.58 dB     A2 Danzon Cubano.wav
DR13        -1.67 dB     -20.99 dB     A3 Symphony No3 – 1, Molto moderato.wav
DR13        -1.86 dB     -19.71 dB     B1 Symphony No3 – 2, Allegro molto.wav
DR16        -7.91 dB     -30.16 dB     B2 Symphony No3 – 3, Andantino quasi allegretto.wav
DR11        -1.34 dB     -17.66 dB     B3 Symphony No3 – 4, Molto deliberato.wav
Number of files:    6
Official DR value:    DR14

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki (L’art du son, Clearaudio’s Diamond Cleaner)
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Limited Edition Denon DL103 SA
  • Phono amp: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives

PW: LaWally

16 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 96/24 (EMI) Aaron Copland – Symphony No. 3 (Mata)

  1. Love Copland; I have Copland conducting Copland on Sony CD;
    Also you Hi Def Copland-Menotti Piano Concertos.
    Very good addition, this one,

  2. Thanks a lot signore, curious about the diff between the vinyl and the CD. Else, I think this is the best recording I heard of the symphony so far and the CD of this is not bad sounding at all…

  3. Dear Mr. Rachmaninov!
    Thank you for everything you do for us!
    Long time ago you posted precious rip of the Bach Violin Concertos by D. and I. Oistrakhs. That was the best interpretation of the masterpieces.
    Is there any chance of reposting them with the FileFactory? it would be very kind of you!
    Thanks in advance!!!

  4. I have the 1986 Berstein recording and the Levi/Atlanta Symphony Orchestra on Telarc. version. I’m looking forward to hearing Mata’s version. Thanks!

Leave a Reply