HD Vinyl – 24/96 – Paavo Järvi / Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen – Beethoven Symphonies 1-9 (9LP box set, 180g pressing, 1 of 999 copies)


# Composers: Ludwig van Beethoven
# Performer: Christiane Oelze, Petra Lang, Klaus Florian Volt, Matthias Goerne
# Orchestra: Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
# Conductor: Paavo Järvi
# Vinyl (2010)
# Number of Discs: 9
# Format: Flac
# DR Analysis: DR 13 (overall rating)
# Label: Impex
# Size: varies – each symphony can be downloaded separately
# Recovery: 5%
# Scan: yes
# Server: RS, FF

There are countless recordings on the market of this most important symphony cycle in musical history. While Wilhelm Furtwängler emphasized the solemn dimension of the music with relatively measured tempos, a tradition continued by such disciples as Barenboim, many contemporary conductors, like Herreweghe, Vänskä, Manze, etc., adopt an approach influenced by the principles of historical performance practice, with a lean sound in the strings and winds, brisk tempos, and sharper accents. The Kammerphilharmonie and Paavo Järvi also follow the latter path.

Although they use modern instruments, except for natural trumpets and timpani, compared to the traditional symphony orchestra, their reduced forces come closer to the performance practice of Beethoven’s day. The result is a relatively bright, transparent sound in which even seasoned Beethoven listeners can discover previously hidden musical details.

From a purely interpretational standpoint, these recordings enjoy reference character and need not fear comparison with those of Furtwängler and early Karajan. Producer Philip Traugott and the Polyhymnia International sound engineers have done a fine job here and this vinyl edition surpasses all its predecessors. Played on a good system, the timbres sound even more natural and the instruments more vivid, simply sensational. The pressings are exemplary as well, cut by Hendrik Pauler and pressed on 180g virgin vinyl by Pallas. Absolutely essential in every way!

Track List:

Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21:
1. Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
2. Andante cantabile con moto
3. Menuetto/Allegro molto e vivace
4. Finale/Adagio – Allegro molto e vivace

Symphony No.2 in D, Op.36;
1. Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
2. Larghetto
3. Scherzo – Allegro
4. Allegro molto

Symphony No. 3 in E flat major (‘Eroica’), Op. 55:
1. Allegro con brio
2. Marcia funebre. Adagio assai
3. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
4. Finale. Allegro molto

Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60:
1. Adagio – Allegro vivace
2. Adagio
3. Menuetto – Trio. Allegro vivace – Un poco meno allegro
4. Allegro ma non troppo

Symphony No. 5 in C minor (‘Fate’), Op. 67:
1. Allegro con brio
2. Andante con moto
3. Allegro
4. Allegro

Symphony No. 6 in F, Op.68 “Pastoral”:
1. Angenehme, heitere Empfindungen, welche bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande im Menschen erwachen. Allegro ma non troppo
2. Szene am Bach. Andante molto mosso
3. Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute. Allegro
4. Donner, Sturm. Allegro
5. Hirtengesang. Wohltaumlige, mit Dank an die Gottheit verbundene Gefühle nach dem Sturm. Allegretto

Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92:
1. Poco sostenuto – Vivace
2. Allegretto
3. Presto – Assai meno presto
4. Allegro con brio

Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93:
1. Allegro vivace e con brio
2. Allegretto scherzando
3. Tempo di Menuetto
4. Allegro vivace

Symphony No.9 in D Minor, op.125:
1. Allegro ma non troppo e un poco maestoso
2. Molto vivace
3. Adagio molto e cantabile
4. Presto; Allegro assai

Ripping Info:

All vinyl is cleaned on a VPI 16.5

Technics SL1200-MK5 (modified)
– Rega RB300 arm with RB700 wiring
– Michell Tecnoweight
– SoundSupports armboard
– Trans-Fi Audio Reso-Mat
Shure V15VxMR (with Jico stylus)
SimAudio Moon 110LP preamp
Native Instruments Audio4DJ USB interface

Processing: Sound Forge 10, ClickRepair (manual mode only)


Do you like my rips?

If you enjoy my rips, please consider making a donation. All donations will go toward new music and/or equipment. Requests are always accepted.
Thank you!

35 thoughts on “HD Vinyl – 24/96 – Paavo Järvi / Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen – Beethoven Symphonies 1-9 (9LP box set, 180g pressing, 1 of 999 copies)

    • From whatever’s post:

      Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
      Performer: Christiane Oelze, Petra Lang, Klaus Florian Volt, Matthias Goerne,
      Orchestra: The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie
      Conductor: Paavo Jarvi
      Audio CD

      • Thanks, gargantu. But, whatever I know, thenightowl is new to me. I downloaded his stuff, but didn’t find it, Oh, well.
        Thank you very much.

        • Hi Bob,

          The vinyl and CD are both the same performances. As for including the booklet here, I don’t have a scanner and there was no way to photograph the booklet without destroying it.

          Hope you enjoy the rip anyway..

  1. Luvly jubly Steve – a triumph.
    Great idea to let us compare 16/44 with 24/96. Jarvi and his band bring to mind memories of Mvravinskys’ Beethoven – no greater compliment there, but certainly without the dreadful sound of the time, where the only things captured well were the wheezes & sneezes of the audience and the bumps and bangs of the furniture removals men. Here, utter background silence, remarkable.

  2. Oooh my favorite composer. If you would like to see how “love”, “heroism”, “fate”, “nature” and “death” is, you must to hear beethoven..

    • Please, try to read properly…at the end of the post, after all the links, there is written:
      “Password is SteveMTNO”

  3. Dear Steve, thank you for this stunning set! I’m totally blown away by it’s sound and execution!
    Can I please trouble you to reupload the 2nd part of the Pastoral Symphony? I have waited quite some time for it to be working again, but seems like it may be dead… Thanks in advance!

  4. Hi NightOwl and thank you for this wonderful set. Can you please repost the 2nd part for the 9th Symphony? This file: jarvi-beet-9-new-2496.part2.rar . Thank you in advance. Alex

Leave a Reply