Rare HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Decca) Riccardo Zandonai – Three Scenes From Francesca Da Rimini (Olivero/Del Monaco)

Get this oustanding and ultra-rare recording, before the world goes down

Reup because of Magda’s death.
The Italian soprano Magda Olivero, one of the most prominent interpreters of the Italian verismo operatic tradition whose career spanned 50 years, has died at 104.
The news agency ANSA said Olivero died Monday, Sept. 8th 2014 in a Milan hospital, where she was admitted after a stroke last month.
The Milan opera house La Scala, where Olivero debuted in 1938, honored her memory with a moment of silence before a performance on Monday. La Scala described Olivero’s voice as charismatic, her acting as formidable and her intelligence as “ready and cutting until the end”.
Olivero took a break from performing after her 1941 marriage, returning to the stage in 1958 in the title role of Adriana Lecouvreur at the urging of the opera’s composer Francesco Cilea. It became one of her most memorable roles.

# Composer: Riccardo Zandonai
# Performer: Magda Olivero, Mario Del Monaco
# Orchestra: Orchestre National De L’Opera De Monte Carlo
# Conductor:
Nicola Rescigno
# Vinyl (1969)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: FLAC (Tracks)
# Label: London (Decca)
# DR-Analysis: DR 13
not found
# Size: 899 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

Another incredible robbery……i will nevernevernever forgive Decca that this grandious recording was never produced, but only this Highlights-record.

There is a complete „Francesca“ available, on CD, with Del Monaco/Olivero, a live-production, with catastrophic sound…

Francesca da Rimini, Op. 4, is an opera in four acts, composed by Riccardo Zandonai, with libretto by Tito Ricordi, (1865–1933), after a play by Gabriele d’Annunzio. It was premiered at the Teatro Regio in Turin on 19 February 1914, and is still staged occasionally.

This opera is Zandonai’s best-known work. In the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, Renato Chiesa calls it “one of the most original and polished Italian melodramas of the 20th century, [which] combines a powerful gift for Italian melody … with an exceptional command of orchestration.” Celebrated performers of the title role have included Gilda dalla Rizza, Magda Olivero (who recorded excerpts from the opera in 1969, for Decca Records) and Renata Scotto. In 2013 it was performed at the Metropolitan Opera in New York with Eva-Maria Westbroek in the title role.

The story takes place in Ravenna and Rimini.

Francesca, daughter of Guido I da Polenta, for state reasons, is to be married to Giovanni, known as Gianciotto, the malformed son of Malatesta da Verucchio. But as Francesca would certainly refuse to marry the lame and deformed Gianciotto, she is introduced in the first act, by means of a well-laid plot, to his handsome younger brother, Paolo, known as Il bello. Under the impression that Paolo is her destined bridegroom, Francesca falls deeply in love with him at first sight; he also falls passionately in love with her, although they do not exchange a single word.

The next act shows a fight in progress between the Guelphs and Ghibellines, and on the platform of a tower of the Malatesti. Francesca, now married to Gianciotto, meets Paolo and gently reproaches him for the fraud practised on her. He protests his innocence of the plot and reveals his intense passion for her. Gianciotto brings the news of Paolo’s election as Captain of the People and Commune of Florence. Paolo departs for Florence.

In the third act Francesca, in her luxurious apartment, is reading the story of Lancelot and Guinevere to her women. They then dance and sing in celebration of the advent of Spring, until, on a whispered word from her slave, Francesca dismisses them. Paolo, sick with longing for her, has returned from Florence. He enters; they continue reading the story of Guinevere together, until, no longer in control of their feelings, they let their lips meet in a long kiss.

In the fourth act Malatestino, Gianciotto’s youngest brother, who himself lusts for Francesca, has discovered her secret meetings with Paolo. After Francesca refuses to give in to his sexual advances, Malatestino betrays Francesca and Paolo to Gianciotto, who determines to find out the truth for himself. Accordingly, Gianciotto lies in wait outside Francesca’s door, and surprising her and Paolo together at early dawn, he slays them both.

Analyzed folder: /96k Zandonai – Francesca Da Rimini (Excerpts) – Olivero-Del Monaco
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR12        -0.82 dB     -18.18 dB     A1 Zandonai – Francesca Da Rimini – Act 2 – E’ ancora sgombro il campo del comune.wav
DR14        -1.11 dB     -21.08 dB     A2 Zandonai – Francesca Da Rimini – Act 3 – No, Smaragdi no. Va, va, corri e digli che non venga.wav
DR13        -0.94 dB     -19.61 dB     B Zandonai – Francesca Da Rimini – Act 4 – Ora andate. Tutte bianche siete.wav
Number of files:    3
Official DR value:    DR13

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono amp: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory

3 archives
PW: LaWally

18 thoughts on “Rare HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Decca) Riccardo Zandonai – Three Scenes From Francesca Da Rimini (Olivero/Del Monaco)

  1. Thanks for this Rach!

    The Met staged it during their last season and I heard the full opera when the production was broadcast on the radio here. There is much fine music in the opera and it is well worth listening to.

  2. Thank you for this BEAUTIFULL record! I fully agree with you … shame to Decca … to show it to us only up-to-the knees … me too… I would like it all!

    • You have to read better, friend 😉 Part 3 is DLable, parts 1+2 are temporarily out, due to maintenance of the server. Try later again.

  3. I’m in tears of extacy even before downloading this, just from the sublime front cover art! THANK YOU for La Signora Olivero!

Leave a Reply