Rare HD-Vinyl 96/24 (BASF) Robert Schumann – Introduction & Allegro Appassionato – Piano Concerto (Frager)

To my friend Trottar
This rare, never on CD released recording with the extremely underrated Malcolm Frager is a real gem…and if you think you know well Schumann’s Concerto, Frager always gives you the feeling of hearing to it for the very first time.

# Composer: Robert Schumann
# Performer: Malcolm Frager

# Orchestra: Philarmonic State Orchestra of Hamburg
# Conductor: Marc Andreae
# Vinyls (1973)
# Format: Flac
# Number of discs: 1
# Label: BASF
# DR-Analysis: DR 14
# ASIN CD: not found
# Size: 960 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

 Analyzed folder: /96k Schumann – Introduction and Allegro Appassionato – Piano Concerto – Frager
 DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
 DR14        -0.52 dB     -20.64 dB     A1 Schumann – Introduction And Allegro Appassionato (Piece For Concerto), Op. 92.wav
 DR15        -1.15 dB     -21.51 dB     A2 Schumann – Piano Concerto In A Minor, Op. 54 – Allegro Affettuoso.wav
 DR11        -10.49 dB     -26.77 dB     B1 Schumann – Piano Concerto In A Minor, Op. 54 – Intermezzo-Andantino Grazioso.wav
 DR14        -0.33 dB     -18.31 dB     B2 Schumann – Piano Concerto In A Minor, Op. 54 – Allegro Vivace.wav
 Number of files:    4
 Official DR value:    DR14

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki (L’art du son, Clearaudio’s Diamond Cleaner)
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotopes, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally

11 thoughts on “Rare HD-Vinyl 96/24 (BASF) Robert Schumann – Introduction & Allegro Appassionato – Piano Concerto (Frager)

  1. I fully agree with the reviewer. The modest sound quality is fully compensated by the beautiful playing. Thank you very much Alfredo! As always you did a great job to share this rip revealing a great page from the romantic era.

  2. Thanks, Maestro, for providing another musical gem. I only wish I had more time a day to spend listening to all the wonderful music there is…

  3. Hello Alf, thank you so much for this real surprise. The Frager collection is slowly growing. Another great recording of the wonderfull a minor concerto. There were very few BASF records made. Trottar

  4. Interesting to compare this version of the concerto with the one of Oppitz/Andreae released recently 🙂 Thank You once again.

Leave a Reply