Rare HD-Vinyl 96/24 (Acanta) Carl Orff – Catulli Carmina

This is an authorized recording by Orff himself
Reposted, now with FF links

# Composer: Carl Orff
# Performer: Marllies Jacobs,  Friedrich Himmelmann,  Gunter Hess,  Ruth M. Putz
# Orchestra: Kölner Rundfunk-Sinfonie-Orchester
# Conductor:Ferdinand Leitner
# Vinyl (1973)
# Format: Flac (tracks)
# Label: Acanta
# DR-Analysis: DR 14
# ASIN: B0000E5NQ6
# Size: 649 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FF

If you already have/like Carmina Burana, you cannot miss this.

It may come as a surprise, if not disappointment, to many that Carl Orff wrote his Cartulli Carmina and Trionfo di Afrodite (Triumph of Aphrodite) as the second and third parts of a triptych, after the boisterous fun of Carmina Burana. By comparison, the latter works have never had the popularity of Carmina Burana. However, if as one listens to Catulli Carmina and the Trionfo over time an appreciation of Orff’s different orchestration and use of voices can be appreciated. This is actually more typical of Carl Orff than Carmina Burana.

Catulli Carmina is a play within a play; it consists of a prologue, three short acts and an epilogue. At the start, young couples profess their undying love only to be ridiculed by a group of old men who know better. They exhort the young people to watch a play on the experiences of Catullus and Lesbia, to know what love is all about. The play commences with Catullus’ famous Odi et amor poem and follows his affair with Lesbia, whom he rejects at the end of the play. All of this is to no avail, as the young couples merely profess their undying love for each other to the chagrin of the old men. So, the views of romantic love and sexual attraction, and their views between young and old, remain unchanged. The orchestration is quite sparse: four pianos and percussion.



1 Praelusio
2 Actus I
3 Actus II
4 Actus III
5 Exodium

Analyzed folder: /Users/alfredo/Desktop/ HiResMusic/96kCO_Cat/96k Orff – Catulli Carmina
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR15        -0.39 dB     -21.20 dB     1 Praelusio.wav
DR15        -0.54 dB     -21.93 dB     2 Actus I.wav
DR16        -2.62 dB     -25.34 dB     3 Actus II.wav
DR13        -2.65 dB     -19.62 dB     4 Actus III.wav
DR12        -0.90 dB     -16.56 dB     5 Exodium.wav
Number of files:    5
Official DR value:    DR14


  • Carl Orff – Catulli Carmina
  • Performers: Ruth-Margret Pütz, Donald Grobe, Friedrich Himmelmann, Gunter Hess, Marllies Jacobs
  • Orchestra: Colonia Broadcast Symphony Orchestra
  • Conductor: Ferdinand Leitner

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Special Edition Denon DL 103
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5 -> Wave 32 bit/96 kHz
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

You hear some clicks and pops here and there? Who cares?
I better let some light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave 32bit/96kHz -> Flac 24bit/96kHz: Twisted Wave
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
2 archives
PW: LaWally

12 thoughts on “Rare HD-Vinyl 96/24 (Acanta) Carl Orff – Catulli Carmina

  1. Sir Rach – Could you repost this beauty? Thank you. I am sure a truckload of thanks will be coming your way should you do so. Take care. ❓

Leave a Reply