Rare Vinyl 16/44.1 (Electrecord) Ludwig van Beethoven – Piano Concerto No. 5 ‘Emperor’ (Michelangeli/Celibidache)

Neither Michelangeli nor Celibidache was an easy person to deal with in their career life. But when they did collaborate, the result was truly amazing.
Many thanks to Ectudor for providing this historical document.

Sorry for the crappy sound…but the (live) performance is outstanding !

# Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
# Performer: Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli
# Orchestra: ORTF Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Sergiu Celibidache
# Vinyl (1974)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: FLAC (Tracks)
# Label: Electrecord
# DR-Analysis: DR 12
not found
# Size: 227 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory



  Concertul Nr. 5 Pentru Pian Şi Orchestră În Mi Bemol Major, Op. 73 “Imperialul”
A1   Allegro 20:02  
B1   Adagio Un Poco Mosso – Attacca 7:41  
B2   Rondo. Allegro 10:51  

Analyzed folder: /44kLvB_PC5_MicCel/44k LvB – Piano Concerto No. 5 – Michelangeli-Celibidache
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR11        -0.91 dB     -16.17 dB     A1 Allegro.wav
DR14        -2.36 dB     -22.25 dB     B1 Adagio Un Poco Mosso – Attacca.wav
DR10        -0.84 dB     -15.15 dB     B2 Rondo. Allegro.wav
Number of files:    3
Official DR value:    DR12


  • Composed By – Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Conductor – Sergiu Celibidache
  • Graphics – Decebal Scriba
  • Liner Notes – Alfred Hoffman
  • Liner Notes [English Version By] – Magda Morait
  • Orchestra – Orchestra Simfonică ORTF*
  • Piano – Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli



Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Kenwood KD 7010
  • Cartridge: Denon DL103
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
PW: LaWally
File removed due to a request by DMCA – New link on demand – please PM me – Do not request the link on public comment site – Only PM, all other request will be deleted.

23 thoughts on “Rare Vinyl 16/44.1 (Electrecord) Ludwig van Beethoven – Piano Concerto No. 5 ‘Emperor’ (Michelangeli/Celibidache)

    • no, no, don’t need…..I made it intentionally 16/44.1 because of the poor sound. Makes no sense to have it in HD…it doesn’t sound better 😉

  1. I found on a chinese site a reference to this recording which says it is a 1975 live recording.
    “1.ST-ECE 02600: Michelangeli (Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli) solo, Celibidache (Sergiu Celibidache) directing the French National Radio Symphony Orchestra (Orchestra Simfonica ORTF) concerto of Beethoven’s “Piano Concerto No. 5″ 1975 live recording in Paris. ”

    Source: http://blog.sina.com.cn/s/blog_5f94f06d01012k7w.html

  2. Benedetti Michelangeli and Sergiu Celibidache performed the LvB piano concerto No. 5 with the Orchestre National de l’ORTF October 16, 1974 at the Theatre of Champs Élysées, Paris

  3. Rach, fidati, la registrazione è del 16 Ottobre 1974. Il 15 Ottobre l’Orchestra dell’ORTF ha festeggiato i 40 anni dalla fondazione con il concerto in questione. La sera dopo il concerto è stato replicato e noi, fortunatamente, abbiamo per tuo merito la registrazione.

  4. Ti dirò di più, l’Archivio del Centro di Documentazione “Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli” di Brescia possiede il video inedito del concerto eseguito per l’appunto da ABM con l’Orchestre National de l’O.R.T.F. (Office de radiodiffusion télévision française) dir. da Sergiu Celibidache (Parigi, Théâtre des-Champs-Elysées, 16.10.1974).

  5. Thank you Alf! As usually, you did a great job! The sound is thin, but it preserves and reveals very many fine details from a beautiful live performance. I grew up with this record which was for me like a reference for this concerto. Up today I never heard so many details … so, today you made me happy!
    And you plato …. please tell me if you know …If I’ll go to Brescia, do I have any chance to see the “video indedito” you are talking about? Or is there any chance for it to be, sometime, released to the public?

  6. Hey Rach were you aware of this?

    File Removed

    This file has been removed pursuant to a DMCA complaint filed by the copyright holder.

    Please contact support if you require further assistance.


  7. Thanks a lot for all your time and efforts.
    I think the best recorded and played Emperor from Celibidache and Michelangeli is the one from 1969 with the Sveriges Radios Symfoniorkester in Helsinki, that can be found in the “Memories Excellence” series.
    Perhaps somebody has a vinyl from that?

Leave a Reply