Super HD-Vinyl 192/24 (Mercury) Johannes Brahms – Violin Concerto (Szeryng/Dorati)

Many thanks to our friend ONKLE, who made possible this audiophile dream comes through!
New rip – with the new phono amp, new cart, new ADC/DAC

# Composer: Johannes Brahms
# Performer: Henryk Szeryng
# Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Antal Dorati
# Vinyl (1962)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac (tracks)
# Label: Mercury Living Presence
# DR-Analysis: DR 14
# ASIN: B0000057LQ
# Size: 1.35 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

If anyone seems to have “owned” the Brahms Violin Concerto, it is Henryk Szerying. Szerying captures the drama and intensity of the first movement. He makes the second movement Adagio abolutely sublime. Antal Dorati and the London Symphony deliver an excellent performance. The Mercury Living Presence sound quality is excellent.

Antal Dorati is a relative unknown for some reason, but Brahms connoisseurs know that his Brahms is some of the best you’re likely to find. His Brahms Symphony cycle, also on MLP, is some of the finest Brahms around, and the profound understanding of Brahms he displays on that set is in play here as well. He conducts the LSO in a fine performance, transparent and incisive, with well-judged tempi and great care for his soloist. The first movement is conceived as a grand, sweeping structure by Dorati and Szeryng that avoids sounding rushed – in fact some may find it slow, but it works perfectly when one takes the long view – and is aimed at highlighting the vertical rather than horizontal aspects of its architecture. The slow movement is woven masterfully and gorgeously but without oversentimentality, leading into the radiantly rejoicing giocoso Finale that is amongst the finest ever set to disc. Szeryng navigates the numerous difficulties with technical aplomb and a supreme strength of melodic line, always paying heed to the work’s architecture. His tone is so rich and deep as to almost sound viola-like. He shines throughout, though in particular during the outer movements which call for the utmost virtuosity, something Szeryng had in adundance. This is Szeryng in his prime. The interplay between he and Dorati demonstrates how strong an accompanist Dorati could be, as he perfectly complements his soloist at all turns. The collaboration of these two unsung masters is a special one that produced numerous recordings of the standard violin repertoire for MLP, and this one in particular shouldn’t be missed if it can be found at a reasonable price.

Sound is very good; Mercury’s Living Presence series was always well-regarded in the 1960s for their quality of recorded sound. It has good dynamic range and is very well-balanced (and I’m running this on a pretty good equipment), though Dorati is partially responsible for this due to the clear incisive orchestral articulation he achieves. There is some tape-hiss but that’s to be expected from an analog sourcetape. The liner notes are well-written and informative.

This is arguably Szeryng’s finest recorded performance of the work.

Track Listing

Violin Concerto In D Major, Opus 77
A Allegro Non Troppo
B1 Adagio
B2 Allegro Giocoso, Man Non Troppo Vivace

Analyzed folder: /192kJoBr_ViCo-Sze/192k Brahms – Violin Concerto – Szeryng
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR13        -0.62 dB     -19.92 dB     A Brahms – Violin Concerto D-Major Op. 77 – Allegro Ma Non Troppo.wav
DR15        -2.31 dB     -24.87 dB     B1 Brahms – Violin Concerto D-Major Op. 77 – Adagio.wav
DR11        -0.53 dB     -16.33 dB     B2 Brahms – Violin Concerto D-Major Op. 77 – Allegro Giocoso, Ma Non Troppo Vivace.wav
Number of files:    3
Official DR value:    DR13


  • Composed By – Johannes Brahms
  • Conductor – Antal Dorati
  • Design [Cover] – George Maas
  • Liner Notes – James Lyons
  • Orchestra – London Symphony Orchestra, The
  • Photography By – Angus Mc Bean
  • Violin – Henryk Szeryng


Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono amp: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory

4 archives
PW: LaWally

69 thoughts on “Super HD-Vinyl 192/24 (Mercury) Johannes Brahms – Violin Concerto (Szeryng/Dorati)

  1. I took a break …and for 40 minutes I was flying in the heaven together with your … sumiko blackbird.
    God bless you Rachmaninov!
    I wish half of the peace descendant on my soul, goes back to you. Togheter with the two beers I enjoyed during this time (ein DAS SCHWARZE und ein Das Helle)

  2. A Pole, a Hungarian, the LSO, rendering a German’s music, recorded on an American label, remastered by an Italian using a Japanese black bird!!!
    If that isn’t an ethereal synthesis for an out-of-body experience, I don’t know what is!!! The first guy above, not only got it, but is sensible to sharing with the latest artiste to blend this work splendidly.
    You already have been blessed, as well as all who contributed before you.

    I’m not trying to be schmaltzy; just “credit to whom all it is due!”
    I cap it with a prayer of Thanksgiving and a glass of wine.

    As the Spanish say, SALUDOS, a mi QUIXOTE de la Mancha!
    And get well,

  3. Beautiful music! Many thanks to Oncle for this fantastic record, and, of course, to Rachmaninov for marvelous A/D transfer and generous sharing, which reveals all the nuances of Szhering’s soulful interpretation. And at the end, I should like to thank to the proprietor of this site, Whatever, for letting us play in his garden of joy!

  4. Brahms, Szeryng, Dorati, and 192KHz. So much smoother than other performances in so many ways.

    By the way, Love the Bösendorfer in some of your page headers. We have one in the family.

    • 😀
      And I like the Böse-Sound (*) the best…much more than Steinway or other great names.
      Check my rip of Chopin/Malcolm Frager/Bösendorfer on Telarc….you will go crazy.

      (*) Böse, German, means bad 😀 In this case I mean it in a nice positive way…means, I love when the bad Bösendorfer “shows” to the polite Steinway, what a piano really has to be…
      All this, IHMO…

Leave a Reply