Super HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Mercury) Antonin Dvorak – Cello Concerto (Starker/Dorati) 180g Speakers Corner Edition

Many thanks to our friend ONKLE, who made possible this audiophile legend comes through!
There is a rival to this recording out of Berlin, with Rostropovich playing the cello and von Karajan playing the conductor. But Starker and Dorati are so fine in the Dvorak — and the Mercury recording is a marvel of clarity and body — I’ve been able to pass on to other things, never feeling the need for an alternate view. This disk seems to project Dvorak’s view itself, what need for another?

# Composer: Antonin Dvorak, Max Bruch
# Performer: Janos Starker
# Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Antal Dorati

# Vinyl (1962/2005)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac (tracks)
# Label: Mercury
# DR-Analysis: DR 12
# Size: 1.77 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

Note: I saw after uploading an error on the title of track B2. Please rename the file into
B2 Bruch – Kol Nidrei – Adagio on Hebrew Melodies for Cello and Orchestra

Born in Budapest, Janos Starker, who died aged 88 april 2013, was a high profile cellist on the concert scene with a considerable catalog of recordings, despite the public dominance of Rostropovich and Du Pre. In the postwar era he was tossed around Europe without fixed citizenship, won a competition, went through t the identity crisis of a former child prodigy, and finally found a roost in America. The Hungarian connection apparently helped, since he got his first job with the Dallas Sym. under Dorati in 1949, quickly moving on to become first cellist at the Metropolitan Opera under Fritz Reiner. Even then he had already begun to make solo recordings.

He and Dorati pair up here, in a program of cello chestnuts, including the Dvorak Cto. and Bruch’s somber chant, Kol Nidrei. The sessions are from London in 1962.

Every cellist has his own style, naturally, and Starker’s was not warm and passionate. He had the face of a stage Mephistopheles, and one tended to hear his music-making as cool, somewhat analytical, and always in command. In the Toscanini era such a style was more admired than it might be now, but there is no gainsaying Starker’s presence and his impeccable technique. He and Dorati exhibit a close rapport, and for that reason cello and orchestra come across as perfectly harmonious. The two partners also seem invigorated ad engaged.

I feel I can say this confidently: many years ago, I compared Starker’s performance to the Rostropovich performance and I preferred Mr. Starker’s hands down. His technique and the brilliance of his Stradivari and the sound of the Mercury sound engeneers.

Track Listing

  Dvorak – Cello Concerto In B Minor, Op.104
A1   Allegro 15:10  
A2   Adagio ma non troppo 11:10  
B1 Finale (Allegro moderato) 11:47  
  Bruch – Kol Nidrei, Op. 47
B2   Adagio on Hebrew Melodies for Cello and Orchestra 9:56  

Analyzed folder: /192kDv_CelCo_Sta/192k Dvorak – Cello Concerto – Starker-Dorati
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR11        -0.45 dB     -17.39 dB     A1 Dvorak- Cello Concerto In B Minor, Op.104 – 1. Allegro.wav
DR13        -1.20 dB     -20.52 dB     A2 Dvorak- Cello Concerto In B Minor, Op.104 – 2. Adagio ma non troppo.wav
DR12        -0.35 dB     -17.77 dB     B1 Dvorak- Cello Concerto In B Minor, Op.104 – 3. Finale (Allegro moderato).wav
DR12        -1.28 dB     -18.56 dB     B2 Bruch – Kol Nidrei – Adagio on Hebrew Melodies for Cello and Orchestra.wav

Number of files:    4
Official DR value:    DR12


Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono amp: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory

5 archives
PW: LaWally

42 thoughts on “Super HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Mercury) Antonin Dvorak – Cello Concerto (Starker/Dorati) 180g Speakers Corner Edition

Leave a Reply