Super HD-Vinyl 24/96 (DGG) Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli Plays Chopin

This is one of the most sublime Chopin recordings.
Do you have ears for sheer greatness?

# Composer: Frederyk Chopin
# Performer: Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli
# Vinyl (1972)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: FLAC (Tracks)
# Label: Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft
# DR-Analysis: DR 14
# Size: 1.02 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

Of all the piano records I have ever heard (a great many!) this is in the final top few. The recorded sound is not, I dare say, ‘perfect’ (whatever that is) but it suits this player very well with its slightly ‘soft-focus’ effect. And the playing — well, perfect is hardly adequate as an adjective.

No doubt there are music lovers that Michelangeli does not appeal to, and there is no doubt that his manner is individual. I would still suggest that they listen, or listen again as the case may be, to this disc. This is not bijou Chopin, to say the least. Even in the verge-of-audibility pianissimo he uses in the prelude op 45, M’s touch is a big touch, and the mazurkas are bigger in their impact than usual. The G minor ballade is rhapsodic and ‘romantic’ with a lot of natural ebb and flow in the tempo and plenty of natural flexibility in the rhythm throughout, and what sort of music lover can anyone be who is not overawed by that magnificent tone? This is the playing of a giant, and the final section, reputedly the most difficult in all Chopin, gives as good an idea as anything M ever did of the legendary infallibility of so much of his playing. In the B flat minor scherzo his interpretation did not change much over the years. I was fascinated to compare him with Horowitz and Richter here. In the lovely cantabile near the start Horowitz’s left hand has an incomparable sparkle. M’s left hand is an indistinct murmur with really celestial little highlights in it, the melody has an almost drowsy effect compared with Horowitz’s eagerness, and it was a surprise to find that M is actually the faster of the two. Richter is awfully good of course, but, for me, simply less remarkable. There’s an interesting touch at the end where M plays a reading I had not heard before from anyone — the last note is not the familiar high treble effect but an octave B flat in the bass played in quite phenomenally exact time. The other piece is the solitary prelude op 45, and if I had to name a single piece that most sums up for me the unique greatness of this titan of the 20th century piano it would be either this or the account he gave of the B minor scherzo in his 1990 London recital. It is quiet, brooding and smouldering — I know nothing quite like it. Nor like him.

Enjoy Michelangeli on Youtube !
Michelangeli plays Chopin


A1   Op. 67 No. 2: Cantabile 1:56  
A2   Op. 56 No. 2: Vivace 1:44  
A3   Op. 67 No. 4: Moderato Animato 3:04  
A4   Op. 68 No. 2: Lento 3:04  
A5   Op. 68 No. 1: Vivace 1:28  
A6   Op. 33 No. 1: Mesto 1:59  
A7   Op. 30 No. 3: Allegro Non Troppo – Risoluto 3:11  
A8   Op. 30 No. 2: Allegretto 1:32  
A9   Op. 33 No. 4: Mesto 6:10  
A10   Op. 68 No. 4: Andantino 3:40  
  Prelude Cis-moll Op. 45
B1   Sostenuto 4:40  
  Ballade G-moll Op. 23
B2   Largo – Moderato – Con Fuoco 9:11  
  Scherzo B-moll Op. 31
B3   Presto – Sostenuto 10:56  

Analyzed folder: /96kMicPlCh/96k Michelangeli plays Chopin
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR13        -8.24 dB     -25.14 dB     A1 Mazurka Op. 67 No. 2- Cantabile.wav
DR15        -2.30 dB     -21.05 dB     A2 Mazurka Op. 56 No. 2- Vivace.wav
DR13        -7.85 dB     -26.28 dB     A3 Mazurka Op. 67 No. 4- Moderato Animato.wav
DR15        -2.95 dB     -23.49 dB     A4 Mazurka Op. 68 No. 2- Lento.wav
DR13        -0.51 dB     -18.13 dB     A5 Mazurka Op. 68 No. 1- Vivace.wav
DR14        -4.47 dB     -25.43 dB     A6 Mazurka Op. 33 No. 1- Mesto.wav
DR13        -2.31 dB     -20.25 dB     A7 Mazurka Op. 30 No. 3- Allegro Non Troppo – Risoluto.wav
DR13        -2.94 dB     -20.85 dB     A8 Mazurka Op. 30 No. 2- Allegretto.wav
DR14        -0.96 dB     -21.69 dB     A9 Mazurka Op. 33 No. 4- Mesto.wav
DR16        -2.87 dB     -27.01 dB     A10 Mazurka Op. 68 No. 4- Andantino.wav
DR14        -8.15 dB     -28.29 dB     B1 Prelude Cis-moll Op. 45 Sostenuto.wav
DR13        -1.58 dB     -19.63 dB     B2 Ballade G-moll Op. 23 Largo – Moderato – Con Fuoco.wav
DR14        -1.24 dB     -19.74 dB     B3 Scherzo B-moll Op. 31 Presto – Sostenuto.wav
Number of files:    13
Official DR value:    DR14


  • Art Direction – Franz Neuß
  • Artwork [Lithographie Nach] – Ary Scheffer
  • Artwork [Lithographie] – Maksymilian Fajans
  • Composed By – Frederic Chopin*
  • Engineer [Recording] – Heinz Wildhagen
  • Liner Notes – K. H. Ruppel
  • Photography By [Cover Photo] – Lauterwasser*
  • Photography By [Lithographie] – Marek Habdas
  • Piano – Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli
  • Producer – Karl Faust
  • Recording Supervisor – Rainer Brock


Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory

3 archives
PW: LaWally

20 thoughts on “Super HD-Vinyl 24/96 (DGG) Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli Plays Chopin”

  1. He was one of the greatest with very special marottes. Of great taste and technique. If you will know more about his character, you should read the book of Roberto Cotroneo
    presto con fuoco. Mondatori Editore or in german by Suhrkamp Verlag, Taschenbuch 3026. Trottar

  2. By the way, strange cover. Name of the interpreter in huge letters when “Chopin” is written in tiny ones somewhere below.
    Not the case on every edition of this record however. All things considered, Michelangeli is such an extraordinary pianist that one might think he deserved it. 😉

  3. Many thanks for this. I’ve been a fan for some time, nut had never heard this particular recording. I like the intimate and realistic sound, too.

  4. Michelangeli ‎is not really often associated with romantics but this piece is totally splendid… Arturo is undoubtedly my favorite…

    I’m just asking if one day you’ll get this (by chance we never know) in 24/96 or 192 (especially lookin for the berceuse op.57 in HQ xD).
    => Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli ‎– Chopin
    => Michelangeli All chopin Recital
    => Michelangeli & Ettore Gracis – Ravel Piano Concerto in G

    Thank so much Rach’ and have a great continuation!

      1. Hey Rach again this piece is incredible gee…
        Be sure that if i find one of these i’ll contact you instantly for a good rip xD.
        Addind that “All chopin Recital” is a mono from the 1967 live recorded in Turin…

  5. Yes! I have ears 🙂 and Yes! This is sublime Chopin. ABM has such a fine touch in this repertoire that even the prestos and vivaces sound sweet 😀

Leave a Reply