Can Cakmur - Piano Works (24/96 FLAC)
Can Cakmur – Piano Works (24/96 FLAC)

Performer: Can Çakmur
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Bis
Release: 2019
Size: 1.24 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Liszt: Adelaïde de Beethoven, S466a (First Version)
01. I. Larghetto
02. II. Allegro

Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 8 in E flat major, D568
03. I. Allegro moderato
04. II. Andante molto
05. III. Menuetto. Allegretto
06. IV. Allegro moderato

Haydn: Andante & Variations in F minor, Hob.XVII:6 (Sonata – un piccolo divertimento)
07. Theme. Andante
08. Var. 1
09. Var. 2
10. Coda
11. Fazıl Say: Black Earth, Op. 8

Bartók: Out of Doors, Sz. 81, BB89
12. I. With Drums and Pipes
13. II. Barcarolla
14. III. Musettes
15. IV. The Night’s Music
16. V. The Chase
17. Sasaki: Sacrifice

Recorded: January 2019
Recording Venue: ACTCity Hamamatsu Concert Hall, Japan

On the 3rd January 2019, only a few weeks after winning the 10th Hamamatsu International Piano Competition, Can Çakmur returned to the ACT CITY Concert Hall in Hamamatsu in order to record his début disc. Can’s chosen programme reflects his wide-ranging musical interests – from Haydn’s late F-minor set of variations and Schubert’s early Sonata in E flat to Sacrifice from 2017, composed by Fuyuhiko Sasaki for the competition. Opening with Liszt’s transcription of the Beethoven song Adelaide, the amply filled disc also includes Bartók’s challenging Out of Doors and Black Earth by Can’s compatriot, the Turkish pianist and composer Fazil Say.

Leave a Reply