Carmignola, Brunello: Bach, Vivaldi - Double Concertos for Violin and Cello Piccolo (24/96 FLAC)
Carmignola, Brunello: Bach, Vivaldi – Double Concertos for Violin and Cello Piccolo (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Antonio Vivaldi, Johann Sebastian Bach, Johann Gottlieb Goldberg
Performer: Giuliano Carmignola, Mario Brunello
Orchestra: Accademia dell’Annunciata
Conductor: Riccardo Doni
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Arcana
Release: 2020
Size: 1.33 GB
Recovery: +3%yes
Scan: yes

Vivaldi: Sinfonia in D major, RV125
01. I. Allegro
02. II. Adagio
03. III. Allegro

Vivaldi: Concerto in C Major, RV 508
04. I. Allegro
05. II. Largo
06. III. Allegro

Bach: Concerto in D Minor, BWV 1043
07. I. Vivace
08. II. Largo ma non tanto
09. III. Allegro

Goldberg: Sonata in C Minor, DürG 14
10. I. Largo
11. II. Allegro
12. III. Grave
13. IV. Giga

Bach: Concerto in D Minor, BWV 1060
14. I. Allegro
15. II. Adagio
16. III. Allegro

Vivaldi: Concerto in E-Flat Major, RV 515
17. I. Allegro
18. II. Largo

Violinist Giuliano Carmignola and cellist Mario Brunello: one of greatest interpreters of Vivaldi and Bach, whose recent recording of the Sonatas and Partitas was described by the authoritative magazine Gramophone as ‘a definite first choice among period instrument recordings of these works’; and his long-time friend Mario Brunello, acclaimed for his personal reinterpretation of that same famous collection on the violoncello piccolo (A469).

Giuliano Carmignola became an exclusive artist of Deutsche Grammophon in 2003, with his debut outstanding album Concerto Veneziano being released in 2005. Accompanied by the Milanese ensemble Accademia dell’Annunciata, they offer a highly original, experimental programme. Inspired by the three existing double concertos for violin and cello by Vivaldi – an unusual coupling in ighteenth century concerto literature – they revisit double concertos by Vivaldi and Bach (the famous BWV 1043 for two violins and BWV 1060 for violin and oboe), transposing the second solo part an octave lower on the violoncello piccolo. Underpinned by persuasive historical and musicological evidence, the approach first and foremost reveals their pleasure in working together on an innovative project. The outcome is a delightful opportunity to enjoy famous pieces in a totally different light.

Leave a Reply