Ciccolini, Tortelier: Saint-Saens - Piano, Violin, Cello Concertos (5 CD, APE)
Ciccolini, Tortelier: Saint-Saens - Piano, Violin, Cello Concertos (5 CD, APE)

Composer: Camille Saint-Saens
Orchestra: Orchestre de Paris, Orchestre de la Societe des Concerts du Conservatoire, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, New Philharmonia Orchestra
Conductor: Serge Baudo, Georges Pretre, Louis Fremaux, Pierre Dervaux
Performer: Aldo Ciccolini, Alexis Weissenberg, Paul Tortelier, Groupe Instrumental de Paris
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 5 CD
Format: APE (image+cue)
Label: EMI Classics
Size: 1.61 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Piano Concerto No.1, Op.17
02. Piano Concerto No.2, Op.22
03. Piano Concerto No.4, Op.44
04. Piano Concerto No.3, Op.29
05. Piano Concerto No.5, Op.103
06. Carnival Of The Animals
07. Cello Concerto, Op.33
08. Septet, Op.65
09. Quintet, Op.14
10. Waltz Etude, Op.52 No.6
11. Violin Concerto No.1, Op.20
12. Violin Concerto No.2, Op.58
13. La Muse Et Le PoÈTe, Op.132
14. Wedding Cake, Caprice-Valse For Piano & Strings In A Flat Major, Op. 76
15. Romance For Violin, Op.48
16. Romance For Violin, Op.37
17. Violin Concerto No.3, Op.61
18. Havanaise, Op.83
19. Morceau De Concert In G Major, Op. 62
20. Introduction And Rondo Capriccioso In A Minor, Op. 28
21. Caprice Andalous In G Major, Op. 122
22. Le DÉLuge, Oratorio, Op. 45

An Incredible Bargain

This box contains, in my opinion, the best recordings of the piano concertos and excellent performances of Saint-Saens other concertante works. The Carnaval of the Animals is good too. Decca has a competing set featuring Charles Dutoit and more recent recordings, but this less expensive set easily holds its own.

Leave a Reply