Goode: Bach - 1714 Silbermann Organ of Freiberg Cathedral (24/48 FLAC)
Goode: Bach – 1714 Silbermann Organ of Freiberg Cathedral (24/48 FLAC)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer: David Goode
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Signum
Release: 2011
Size: 834 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Toccata, Adagio & Fugue in C major, BWV564
01. Toccata
02. Adagio
03. Fugue

Concerto in A minor (after Vivaldi)
04. i. Allegro
05. ii. Adagio cantabile
06. iii. Allegro

07. Chorale prelude on ‘Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele’ BWV 654

Prelude & Fugue in B minor, BWV544
08. Prelude
09. Fugue

10. Chorale Prelude BWV682 ‘Vater unser im Himmelreich’

Prelude & Fugue in G major, BWV541
11. Prelude
12. Fugue

13. Chorale Prelude BWV622 ‘O Mensch, bewein’ dein’ Sünde groß’

Passacaglia & Fugue in C minor, BWV582
14. Passacaglia
15. Fugue

David Goode performs a grand selection of some of Bach’s best organ works – including the famed Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor – providing modern listeners with a unique chance to hear Bach’s music as congregations of that period may have done.

The Gottfried Silbermann organ of Freiberg cathedral is one of a handful of such 18th-century instruments (built during Bach’s lifetime) to have remained largely unmodified to this day. Bach’s work as an organ inspector shows that he tested and inaugurated a number of Silbermann’s organs in Germany and, although there is no record that he played this instrument, its sound is undoubtedly one that Bach would have recognised and composed for.

Leave a Reply