Igor Levit - Encounter (24/96 FLAC)
Igor Levit – Encounter (24/96 FLAC)

Performer: Igor Levit
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Sony
Size: 1.39 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Johann Sebastian Bach & Ferruccio Busoni
10 Chorale Preludes, BV B 27
01. No. 1, Komm, Gott Schöpfer, Heiliger Geist, BWV 667
02. No. 2, Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645
03. No. 3, Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 659
04. No. 4, Nun freut euch, lieben Christen gmein, BWV 734
05. No. 5, Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639
06. No. 6, Herr Gott, nun schleuß den Himmel auf, BWV 617
07. No. 7a, Durch Adams Fall ist ganz verderbt, BWV 637
08. No. 7b, Durch Adams Fall ist ganz verderbt. Fuga, BWV 705
09. No. 8, In dir ist Freude, BWV 615
10. No. 9, Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, BWV 665

Johann Sebastian Bach & Ferruccio Busoni
10 Chorale Preludes, BV B 50
11. Herzlich tut mich erfreuen, Op. 122/4
12. Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele, Op. 122/5
13. Es ist ein Ros entsprungen, Op. 122/8
14. Herzlich tut mich verlangen, Op. 122/9
15. Herzlich tut mich verlangen, Op. 122/10
16. O Welt, ich muss dich lassen, Op. 122/11

Johannes Brahms & Max Reger
Vier ernste Gesänge
17. Denn es gehet dem Menschen wie dem Vieh, Op. 121/1
18. Ich wandte mich und sahe an alle, Op. 121/2
19. O Tod, wie bitter bist du, Op. 121/3
20. Wenn ich mit Menschen- und mit Engelszungen redete, Op. 121/4

Max Reger
21. Nachtlied, Op. 138/3 (Transcription for Piano)

Also available:  Luciano Pavarotti - Le piu belle romanze e conzoni, Vol.2 (FLAC)

Morton Feldman
22. Palais de Mari

The new album ENCOUNTER by IGOR LEVIT will be released on 11 September on Sony Classical. A very personal double album marked by a desire for encounter and togetherness. The program includes rarely played arrangements of Bach and Brahms by Ferruccio Busoni and Max Reger, as well as Palais de Mari – Morton Feldman’s final work for piano.

Igor Levit’s double album “Encounter” seeks sounds that give inner strength and support for the soul. In works by Bach to Max Reger, based on poignant vocal compositions, the desire for encounters and human togetherness is given expression – at a time when isolation is the order of the day. The result is a very personal recital.

The 33-year-old once again steps beyond the limits of pure piano repertoire: in the Busoni transcriptions of Bach’s chorale preludes and the late Brahms, which are rarely heard as complete cycles, Levit assumes the role of an organist who fills vast church spaces. In Johannes Brahms’s Vier ernste Gesänge, he lends instrumental eloquence to overcoming the torments of fearing death. On the other hand, the gentle shimmer produced from its very few notes makes Morton Feldman’s extremely quiet work for piano, Palais de Mari (1986), the epitome of a sensuous, transcendental realm of possibilities.

The repertoire presented by Levit here reflects the album’s title. The works create a community of experience for many individuals forced to maintain distance from one another. They establish contact with religious and inward spirituality. In addition, the inner connections between the composers and their respective aesthetics make “Encounter” a journey offering astonishing discoveries, even on ostensibly familiar terrain.

“The restricted isolation in the weeks since mid-March 2020 was often difficult for me too. As an artist, however, I have never felt so free, so open in my life as on those days when I often only decided half an hour before the live stream what I would play in my house concerts,” reports Igor Levit. The complete absence of routine concert activity also had its positive sides: “Being able to make music without any compulsion and spontaneously choosing works in which all questions about love and death, loneliness and the possibility of real love for others are examined, has given my piano playing a level of freedom that I had never before experienced in this form.”

Leave a Reply