Karajan: Schumann - The 4 Symphonies (24/96 FLAC)
Karajan: Schumann – The 4 Symphonies (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Robert Schumann
Orchestra: Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Herbert von Karajan
Audio CD
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Size: 2.81 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Symphony No .1 in B Flat Major, Op. 38 “Spring”
01. I. Andante un poco maestoso – Allegro molto vivace
02. II. Larghetto
03. III. Scherzo (Molto vivace)
04. IV. Allegro animato e grazioso

Symphony No. 2 in C Major, Op. 61
05. I. Sostenuto assai – Un poco più vivace – Allegro ma non troppo – Con fuoco
06. II. Scherzo (Allegro vivace)
07. III. Adagio espressivo
08. IV. Allegro molto vivace

Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 97 “Rhenish”
09. I. Lebhaft
10. II. Scherzo (Sehr mäßig)
11. III. Nicht schnell
12. IV. Feierlich
13. V. Lebhaft

Symphony No. 4 in D Minor, Op. 120
14. I. Ziemlich langsam – Lebhaft
15. II. Romanze (Ziemlich langsam)
16. III. Scherzo
17. IV. Langsam – Lebhaft – Schneller – Presto

Overture, Scherzo, and Finale, Op.52
18. I. Overture (Andante con moto – allegro)
19. II. Scherzo (vivo)
20. III. Finale (Allegro molto vivace)

“I have written before about the special distinction of Karajan’s recordings of the Schumann symphonies (which are unsurpassed in the present catalogue) when discussing the coupling of the Rhenish with Mendelssohn’s Reformation Symphony in April. The Spring is no exception: it is as fresh as it should be, beautifully paced, and the playing of the Berlin Philharmonic is magnificent. The digitally remastered sound is drier than the original but on the whole is very successful; the bright-eyed quality suits the music. A most enjoyable disc.” (Ivan March, Gramophone)

“Karajan’s interpretations of the Schumann Symphonies stand above all other modern readings.” (Penguin Guide)

Leave a Reply