Kitayenko: Prokofiev, Khachaturian - Orchestral Works (24/48 FLAC)
Kitayenko: Prokofiev, Khachaturian – Orchestral Works (24/48 FLAC)

Composer: Sergei Prokofiev, Aram Khachaturian
Orchestra: Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Dmitri Kitayenko
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Oehms
Size: 810 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Sergei Prokofiev: Summer Night, Op. 123:
01. Summer Night, Op. 123: I. Introduction
02. Summer Night, Op. 123: II. Serenade
03. Summer Night, Op. 123: III. Minuet
04. Summer Night, Op. 123: IV. Dreams
05. Summer Night, Op. 123: V. Dance

Scythian Suite, Op. 20:
06. Scythian Suite, Op. 20: I. Adoration of Veless and Ala
07. Scythian Suite, Op. 20: II. The Enemy of God and the Dance of the Spirits
08. Scythian Suite, Op. 20: III. Night
09. Scythian Suite, Op. 20: IV. Lolly’s Departure and the Sun’s Procession

Aram Khachaturian: Masquerade Suite:
10. Masquerade Suite: I. Waltz
11. Masquerade Suite: II. Nocturne
12. Masquerade Suite: III. Mazurka
13. Masquerade Suite: IV. Romance
14. Masquerade Suite: V. Galop

Spartacus Suite No. 1 (Excerpts):
15. Spartacus Suite No. 1 (Excerpts): III. Variation of Aegina and Bacchanalia
16. Spartacus Suite No. 2: I. Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia
17. Spartacus Suite No. 1 (Excerpts): V. Dance of the Gaditanae. Victory of Spartacus

This recording brings together unique orchestral suites by the Soviet composer Sergei Prokofiev and the Soviet-Armenian composer Aram Khachaturian. Summer Night Suite is based on the music from Prokofievs opera Betrothal in a Monastery and Scythian Suite was derived from his ballet Ala and Lolly. Aram Khachaturian wrote his Masquerade Suite in 1941 to accompany Mikhail Lermontovs play of the same name. His ballet Spartacus (1954) portrays the defeat the Romans by the hero Spartacus who leads an uprising of slaves. The suites present a range of moods and variety of melodic invention that are completely engaging. This is the Zagreb Philharmonics third recording for the OehmsClassics label. Their recording of Glazunovs The Seasons, also under the direction of Dmitrij Kitajenko, received an ICMA nomination.

Leave a Reply