Kyle Bielfield - Stopping By (24/88 FLAC)
Kyle Bielfield – Stopping By (24/88 FLAC)

Performer: Kyle Bielfield, Lachlan Glen, Michael Samis
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Delos
Release: 2013
Size: 1.11 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Beach, A: 4 Songs, Op. 56: No. 1. Autumn Song
02. Barber: Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening
03. Rorem: The Lordly Hudson
04. Duke, J W: Water that Falls and Runs Away
05. Griffes: The Water Lily
06. Carter, E: 3 Poems of Robert Frost: No. 2. The Rose Family
07. Bowles: In the Woods
08. Barber: 4 Songs, Op. 13: No. 3. Sure on this Shining Night
09. Duke, J W: Stopping by woods on a snowy evening
10. Rorem: Snake
11. Cadman: From the Land of the Sky-Blue Water, Op. 45, No. 1
12. Duke, J W: Morning in Paris
13. Griffes: 3 Poems, Op. 9: No. 3. Phantoms

John Woods Duke:
14. Bread and Music
15. Little Elegy
16. 6 Songs: No. 5. Wood Song
17. February Twilight

18. Celius Hudson Dougherty: Beauty Is Not Caused
19. Rorem: Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening
20. Beach, A: 4 Songs, Op. 56: No. 2. Go Not Too Far
21. Abel, M: The Benediction

Aaron Copland:
Old American Songs, Set 1
22. IV. Simple Gifts
23. III. Long Time Ago

Stephen Collins Foster:
24. Beautiful Dreamer
25. Gentle Annie (arr. for voice, cello and piano)

26. Berlin, I: Carefree: Change partners

Leonard Bernstein:
27. Spring Will Come Again
28. Peter Pan: Dream With Me

Also available:  Spivakov: Bizet, Schedrin - The Carmen suite, Shostakovich - Concerto no.1 (APE)

Recorded: 8-9, 11 and 16 March 2013
Recording Venue: First United Methodist Church, Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States

Outstanding tenor and recent Juilliard School graduate Kyle Bielfield has lost no time in making quite a name for himself in the realms of opera and art song alike. In this, his debut recording, he offers a carefully chosen assortment of outstanding American art songs by the finest domestic composers – to include Amy Beach, Charles Tomlinson Griffes, Samuel Barber, John Duke, Ned Rorem, Mark Abel and others. He further blesses us with classic examples of nostalgia-ridden vocal Americana by Stephen Foster, Aaron Copland, Irving Berlin and Leonard Bernstein. All texts are also by American writers and poets. The title theme derives from the album’s three winning settings of former American Poet Laureate Robert Frost’s signature poem, “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.”

Kyle is blessed with a gorgeous, silvery lyric tenor voice: an instrument that he applies with consummate skill, rare expressiveness and deep emotion. These virtues combine to produce memorable and incredibly moving performances. Pianist Lachlan Glen provides virtuosic, sensitive and empathetic keyboard collaboration throughout – and cellist Michael Samis’s lovely obbligatos grace several of the Americana selections.

Leave a Reply