Labirinti Armonici: Bonporti - Sonatas op.2 for 2 Violins and B.C. (24/88 FLAC)
Labirinti Armonici: Bonporti – Sonatas op.2 for 2 Violins and B.C. (24/88 FLAC)

Composer: Francesco Bonporti
Performer: Labirinti Armonici
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Brilliant Classics
Release: 2018
Size: 1.01 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Sonata No.8 in C
01. I. Preludio
02. II. Allemanda
03. III. Adagio
04. IV. Gavotta

Sonata No.6 in A minor
05. I. Preludio
06. II. Corrente
07. III. Sarabanda
08. IV. Gavotta

Sonata No.3 in F
09. I. Preludio. Allemanda
10. II. Corrente
11. III. Grave
12. IV. Giga

Sonata No.9 in B flat
13. I. Preludio
14. II. Allemanda
15. III. Sarabanda
16. IV. Giga

Sonata No.2 in E minor
17. I. Preludio
18. II. Allemanda
19. III. Corrente
20. IV. Gavotta

Sonata No.7 in B minor
21. I. Preludio
22. II. Allemanda
23. III. Adagio
24. IV. Giga

Sonata No.5 in E
25. I. Preludio
26. II. Allemanda
27. III. Sarabanda
28. IV. Giga

Sonata No.4 in A
29. I. Preludio
30. II. Allemanda
31. III. Corrente
32. IV. Gavotta

Sonata No.1 in D
33. I. Preludio
34. II. Allemanda
35. III. Staccato e Adagissimo
36. IV. Giga

37. Sonata No.10 in G – Ciaccona

Labirinti Armonici:
Andrea Ferroni – violin
Josef Höhn – violin
Ivo Brigadoi – cello
Andreas Benedikter – harpsichord and organ

Francesco Bonporti (1672-1749) lived for the largest part of his life in Trento, his native town. He studied in Rome, and was influenced by Arcangelo Corelli, whose style of imitative counterpoint he invests with dramatic elements. His fame spread over Europe and the great Johann Sebastian Bach transcribed for harpsichord some of his violin sonatas.

The complete Sonatas for 2 Violins & B.C. Op. 2 consist of 4 dance movements, the allemande, corrente, sarabande and gigue or gavotte. The first violin is mainly predominant, the other two instruments usually providing the accompaniment. The faster movements require virtuoso skills from the performers while the slow movements flow in sensitive and slightly melancholy melodic lines.

The Italian group Labirinti Armonici specializes in the performance of undiscovered Baroque music, it consists of two violins, cello and harpsichord/organ.

Leave a Reply