Lloyd-Jones: Bliss - Meditations on a Theme by John Blow (24/44 FLAC)
Lloyd-Jones: Bliss – Meditations on a Theme by John Blow (24/44 FLAC)

Composer: Arthur Bliss
Orchestra: Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: David Lloyd-Jones
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Naxos
Size: 635 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Meditations on a Theme by John Blow
01. Introduction: The Lord is my Shepherd – I will fear no evil
02. Meditation I: He leadeth me beside the still waters
03. Meditation II: Thy rod and staff they comfort me
04. Meditation III: Lambs
05. Meditation IV: He restoreth my soul
06. Meditation V: In green pastures
07. Interlude: Through the valley of the shadow of death
08. Finale: In the house of the Lord

Metamorphic Variations
09. Variation 1: Elements
10. Variation 2: Ballet
11. Variation 3: Assertion
12. Variation 4: Speculation
13. Variation 5: Interjections
14. Variation 6: Scherzo I
15. Variation 7: Contemplation
16. Variation 8: Polonaise
17. Variation 9: Funeral Processions
18. Variation 10: Cool Interlude
19. Variation 11: Scherzo II
20. Variation 12: Duet
21. Variation 13: Dedicated to G.D. and A.D.
22. Variation 14: Affirmation

Recorded: 11-12 May 2009
Recording Venue: Concert Hall, The Lighthouse, Poole, Dorset, UK

Scored for a large orchestra, including an extensive percussion section, Sir Arthur Bliss’s Metamorphic Variations dates from the end of his creative life.

Inspired by the triptych Tantris painted by Bliss’s long-time friend, the late George Dannatt, it is a work of extremes, of enormous power, passion and violence balanced by gentleness, whimsy and delicacy.

Meditations on a Theme by John Blow is one of Bliss’s most eloquent and personal scores, a private tribute to a generation cut down in its youth, including his own brother, during World War I.

Leave a Reply