Ohlsson: Griffes - Piano Music (24/88 FLAC)
Ohlsson: Griffes – Piano Music (24/88 FLAC)

Composer: Charles Tomlinson Griffes
Performer: Garrick Ohlsson
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Hyperion
Size: 1.05 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Tone-Pictures (3), Op. 5
01. I. The Lake at Evening: Tranquillo e dolce
02. II. The Vale of Dreams: Sognando
03. III. The Night Winds: Presto fuggevole

Fantasy Pieces, Op. 6
04. I. Barcarolle: Andantino, ma non troppo
05. II. Notturno: Tranquillamente, ma non trascinato
06. III. Scherzo: Vivace e fantastico

Roman Sketches, Op. 7
07. I. The White Peacock: Languidamente e molto rubato
08. II. Nightfall: Lento misterioso
09. III. The Fountain of the Acqua Paola: Allegro moderato
10. IV. Clouds: Tranquillo

Piano Sonata in F sharp minor
11. I. Feroce – Allegro con moto – Tranquillamente –
12. II. Molto tranquillo
13. III. Allegro vivace – Appassionato – Lento – Tempo primo – Presto

14. De Profundis
15. Winter Landscape

Three Preludes
16. I. I
17. II. II
18. III. III

The piano works of American composer Charles Tomlinson Griffes represent a remarkable musical achievement. Griffes was active as a composer for little more than twelve years. Nevertheless, he produced pieces of great maturity that are both concise and extraordinarily powerful, showing the contemporary European influences to which he was exposed but also demonstrating a highly individual compositional voice. Roman Sketches, his most famous work, includes “The White Peacock” – an acknowledged Impressionist masterpiece – while the final movement, “Clouds,” heralds the language of modernism. Almost all of Griffes’s piano music is present here, played by his compatriot Garrick Ohlsson, who here applies the full force of his interpretive and technical prowess.

Leave a Reply