Rattle: Mahler - Symphonies 1-10 (14 CD box set, FLAC)
Rattle: Mahler - Symphonies 1-10 (14 CD box set, FLAC)

Conductor: Simon Rattle
Composer: Gustav Mahler
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 14
Format: FLAC (image+cue)
Label: EMI Classics
Size: 3.62 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Disc: 01
01. Blumine
02. I. Langsam. Schleppend – Im Anfang Sehr Gemachlich
03. II. Kraftig Bewegt, Doch Nicht Zu Schnell
04. III. Feierlich Und Gemessen, Ohne Zu Schleppen
05. IV. Sturmisch Bewegt

Disc: 02
01. I. Kraftig. Entschieden
02. II. Tempo Di Menuetto. Sehr Mabig
03. III. Comodo. Scherzando. Ohne Hast
04. IV. Sehr Langsam. Misterioso. Durchaus Ppp Nietzsche
05. V. Lustig Im Tempo Und Keck Im Ausdruck Des Knaben Wunderhorn

Disc: 03
01. VI. Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden
02. Der Schildwache Nachtlied
03. Verlor’ne Muh’
04. Wer Hat Dies Liedlein Erdacht?
05. Wo Die Schonen Trompeten Blasen
06. Revelge
07. Der Tambourg’sell
08. Des Antonius Von Padua Fischpredigt
09. Ablosung Im Sommer

Disc: 04
01. I. Bedachtig, Nicht Eilen – Recht Gemachlich
02. II. In Gemachlicher Bewegugn, Ohne Hast
03. III. Ruhevoll
04. IV. Sehr Behaglich

Disc: 05
01. I. Trauermarsch (In Gemessenen Schritt. Streng. Wie Ein Kondukt)
02. II. Sturmisch Bewegt. Mit Grober Vehemenz
03. III. Scherzo (Kraftig, Nicht Zu Schnell)
04. IV. Adagietto. Sehr Langsam
05. V. Rondo – Finale (Allegro)

Disc: 06
01. Medley: I. Adagio/Allegro Risoluto, Ma Non Troppo
02. II. Nachtmusik: Allegro Moderato
03. III. Scherzo: Schattenhaft
04. IV. Nachtmusik: Andante Amoroso
05. V. Rondo-Finale

Also available:  Karajan: Tchaikovsky - Symphonies no.1-6 (24/96 FLAC)

Disc: 07
01. Veni, Creator Spiritus
02. Imple Superna Gratia
03. Infirma Nostri Corporis
04. Tempo I (Allegro, Etwas Hastig)
05. Infirma Nostri Corporis
06. Accende Lumen Sensibus
07. Qui Paraclitus Diceris
08. Gloria Patri Domino
09. Poco Adagio
10. Piu Mosso (Allegro Moderato)
11. Waldung, Sie Schwankt Heran
12. Ewiger Wonnebrand
13. Wie Felsenabgrund Mir Zu Fuben
14. Gerettet Ist Das Edle Glied
15. Uns Bleibt Ein Erdenrest
16. Ich Spur Soeben
17. Hochste Herrscherrin Der
18. Dir, Der Unberuhrbaren
19. Bei Der Liebe, Die Den Fusen
20. Neige, Neige, Du Ohnegleiche
21. Er Uberwachst Uns Schon
22. Komm! Hebe Dich Zu Hohern
23. Blicket Auf Zum Retterblick
24. Alles Vergangliche
25. Untitled Track

Disc: 08
01. I. Adagio
02. II. Scherzo
03. III. ‘Purgatorio’ (Allegretto Moderato)
04. IV. (Scherzo)
05. V. Finale

Disc: 09
01. I. Allergo Energico, Ma Non Troppo
02. II. Andante
03. III. Scherzo (Wuchtig)

Disc: 10
01. IV. Finale: Allegro Moderato
02. I. Allegro Maestoso
03. II. Andante Moderato
04. III. In Ruhig Fliebender Bewegung

Disc: 11
01. IV. Urlicht (Sehr Feierlich, Aber Schlicht)
02. V. Im Tempo Des Scherzos (Wild Herausfahrend)
03. Wieder Sehr Breit
04. Ritardando… Maestoso
05. Wieder Zuruckhaltend
06. Langsam. Misterioso
07. Etwas Bewegter
08. Mit Aufschwung, Aber Nicht Eilen
09. I. Andante Comodo

Disc: 12
01. II. Im Tempo Eines Gemachlichen Landlers. Etwas Tappisch Und Sehr Derb
02. III. Rondo-Burleske (Allegro Assai. Sehr Trotzig)
03. IV. Adagio (Sehr Langsam Und Noch Zuruckhaltend)
04. I. Waldmarchen
05. II. Der Spielmann
06. III. Hochzeitsstuck

Also available:  Die schönste Ballettmusik / The Most Beautiful Ballet Music (10 CD box set, FLAC)

Disc: 13
01. VI. Der Abschied
02. I. Das Trinklied Vom Jammer Der Erde
03. II. Der Einsame Im Herbst
04. III. Von Der Jugend

Disc: 14
01. IV. Von Der Schonheit
02. V. Der Trunkene Im Fruhling
03. VI. Der Abschied

Performers: Birgit Remmert, Simon Keenlyside, Amanda Roocroft, Soile Isokoski, Juliane Banse, Jane Henschel, Jon Villars, David Wilson-Johnson, John Relyea, Christine Brewer, Arleen Augér, Dame Janet Baker, Helena Döse, Alfreda Hodgson, Robert Tear, Sean Rea, Thomas Hampson, Peter Seiffert, Anne Sofie von Otter

Orchestra: London Symphony Chorus, Toronto Children’s Chorus, City of Birmingham Symphony Youth Chorus, City of Birmingham Symphony Chorus
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Wiener Philharmoniker (No. 9), Berliner Philharmoniker (Nos. 5 & 10)

Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle


Rattles Mahler has been one of his finest achievements as a conductor-a marriage begun early in Rattles career with several exceptional recordings with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Over the years, many of those fine recordings went out of the catalogue and became very difficult to find(except the 2,4) while the 5 more recently with the Berlin(both received rave reviews).
Now that this cycle is complete it should move straight to the top of the list. It may not be as good as the Gielen, but considering that it is less than half as expensive(while the Gielen is only a fraction better) it makes this much more valuable.
The third is one of the finest on record-giving ground to only Gielen and maybe Chailley or Bernstein63. The second has long been one of my favourite versions, recently released as part of EMI’s Great Recording series. The sixth is also quite exemplary, combining a thrust and passion missing in most recent accounts(ex. Chailley, Abbado, even Gielen,). The ninth is fantastic.
The fifth and eighth are the most recent recordings. The fifth was slightly controversial though very entertaining, though I didnt care much for the eighth, especially considering there seems to be more consistently fine recordings of it than any other mahler symphony.
Considering the low price and the additions of Das Klagende Lied, Das Lied Von der Erde, and Das Knoben, I would have to recommend this as a first choice, though I would not want to be without the Gielen cycle on Hansler and both Bernsteins.


  1. Whatever,
    Thanks for the set. You are a god presiding over musical treasures.

  2. Dear Rachmaninov

    Sorry to hear that the 40 GB of Bruckner et al were largely corrupted. I have 6 TB (6000 GB) of classical music in lossless on harddisk. You are quite welcome to have a copy free of charge (apart from the harddisks, which you must pay for) if you pick it up in Copenhagen. Send me a mail if you are interested.

    1. That’s a bargain!!! What are you doing at this modest site, Doofus, with your 6TB?!:wink:

  3. Much thanks for links, whatever. From a quick comparison to my 1991 version of Symphony No.2, there seems to be no difference.

Leave a Reply