Richard Rodney Bennett - Orchestral Works vol.3 (24/96 FLAC)
Richard Rodney Bennett – Orchestral Works vol.3 (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Richard Rodney Bennett
Performer: Dame Sarah Connolly
Orchestra: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: John Wilson
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Chandos
Release: 2019
Size: 1.05 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Symphony No.1
01. I. Allegro
02. II. To D.K. Andante
03. III. Molto vivace

A Historty of the Dansant
04. No. 1, Foxtrot. Vivo
05. No. 2, Slow Foxtrot. Allegretto con eleganza
06. No. 3, Tango. Tempo giusto e ritmico

Reflections on a Sixteenth Century Tune
07. Prelude
08. Var. 1, Allegretto
09. Var. 2, Allegro vivo
10. Var. 3, Homage to Peter Warlock
11. Var. 4, Con brio e ritmico
12. Finale

13. Ia. The Spring Signs. Ritornello
14. Ib. The Spring Signs. Aries
15. Ic. The Spring Signs. Taurus
16. Id. The Spring Signs. Gemini
17. IIa. The Summer Signs. Ritornello
18. IIb. The Summer Signs. Cancer
19. IIc. The Summer Signs. Leo
20. IId. The Summer Signs. Virgo
21. IIIa. The Autumn Signs. Ritornello
22. IIIb. The Autumn Signs. Libra
23. IIIc. The Autumn Signs. Scorpio
24. IIId. The Autumn Signs. Sagittarius
25. IVa. The Winter Signs. Ritornello
26. IVb. The Winter Signs. Capricorn
27. IVc. The Winter Signs. Aquarius
28. IVd. The Winter Signs. Pisces
29. V. Ritornello

Bennett had a gift for human relationships – family, partners, friends, and fellow artists. Occasionally, his personal loyalty could become an obstacle to his creativity but overwhelmingly, his relationships were an inspiration. Each of the four works recorded here has connections to a significant individual in his life. The composition of his First Symphony coincided with the arrival in his life of Dan Klein, who would become his long-term partner. Zodiac is dedicated to the composer Elisabeth Lutyens, whose music and personality Bennett cherished throughout his life, despite her often caustic manner. A History of the Thé Dansant sets poems by his older sister, the poet Meg Peacocke, and doubles as a perceptive but unsentimental memoir of their long-dead parents. And Reflections on a Sixteenth Century Tune is dedicated to the conductor John Wilson, with whom Bennett shared a musical connection that deepened into a true and lasting friendship.

Leave a Reply