Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra: Beethoven Live (24/44 FLAC)
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra: Beethoven Live (24/44 FLAC)

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Performer: Roberta Alexander, Jard van Nes, Horst Laubenthal, Leonard Mroz, Choir of the Concertgebouworkest, Concertgebouworkest
Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Conductor: David Zinman, Leonard Bernstein, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Herbert Blomstedt, Mariss Jansons, Roger Norrington, Carlos Kleiber, Philippe Herreweghe, Antal Doráti
Number of Discs: 5
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: RCO
Release: 2020
Size: 3.2 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Symphony No. 1 in C Major, Op. 21. David Zinman (2010):
01. I. Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
02. II. Andante cantabile con moto
03. III. Menuetto. Allegro molto e vivace
04. IV. Adagio – allegro molto e vivace

Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 36. Leonard Bernstein (1978):
05. I. Adagio molto – allegro con brio
06. II. Larghetto
07. III. Scherzo. Allegro
08. IV. Allegro molto

Symphony No. 3 in E-Flat Major, Op. 55 ‘Eroica’. Nikolaus Harnoncourt (1988):
09. I. Allegro con brio
10. II. Marcia funebre. Adagio assai
11. III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
12. IV. Finale. Allegro molto

Symphony No. 4 in B-Flat Major, Op. 60. Herbert Blomstedt (2003):
13. I. Adagio – Allegro vivace
14. II. Adagio
15. III. Allegro vivace
16. IV. Allegro ma non troppo

Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67. Mariss Jansons (2008):
17. I. Allegro con brio
18. II. Andante con moto
19. III. Allegro
20. IV. Allegro

Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Op. 68 ‘Pastoral’. Roger Norrington (2004):
21. I. Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande. Allegro ma non troppo
22. II. Szene am Bach. Andante molto mosso
23. III. Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute. Allegro
24. IV. Gewitter, Sturm. Allegro
25. V. Hirtengesang. Frohe und dankbare Gefühle nach dem Sturm. Allegretto

Also available:  Brendel, Schubert: Piano Quintet "Trout", Wanderer-Fantasie (SACD ISO)

Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92. Carlos Kleiber (1983):
26. I. Poco sostenuto – Vivace
27. II. Allegretto
28. III. Presto – Assai meno presto
29. IV. Allegro con brio

Symphony No. 8 in F Major, Op. 93. Philippe Herreweghe (2003):
30. I. Allegro vivace e con brio
31. II. Allegretto scherzando
32. III. Tempo di menuetto
33. IV. Allegro vivace

Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, Op. 125 ‘Choral’. Antal Doráti (1985):
34. IV. Presto – Allegro assai
35. I. Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso
36. II. Molto vivace
37. III. Adagio molto e cantabile

Ludwig van Beethoven’s ‘Nine Symphonies’ are the core repertoire of virtually every orchestra in the world and the Concertgebouworkest is no exception. Until the 1960s the Beethoven tradition of the Concertgebouworkest meant yearly symphony cycles that closed concert seasons. Later on Beethoven ‘Symphonies’ were mainly programmed one at a time, with a different (guest) conductor. This box set offers the finest recorded Concertgebouworkest live performances of the ‘Nine Symphonies’ since the 1970s. With a variety of conductors, from Leonard Bernstein to Nikolaus Harnoncourt it demonstrates the orchestra’s incredible versatility.

The Beethoven symphonies: all nine of them stunning masterworks, all nine performed countless times. Be that as it may, there are conductors who can recontextualise these symphonies in such a way that they sound completely new, as Iván Fischer proved in 2013 and 2014 in his Beethoven Series with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, spread out over two seasons. A veritable journey of discovery through a familiar landscape.

Leave a Reply