van Oosten: Vierne - 24 Pièces de Fantasie (2 CD, FLAC)
van Oosten: Vierne - 24 Pièces de Fantasie (2 CD, FLAC)

Performer: Ben van Oosten
Composer: Louis Vierne
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (image+cue)
Label: MD&G
Size: 552 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Disc: 1
01. Ste I, Op.51: Prld
02. Ste I, Op.51: Andantino
03. Ste I, Op.51: Caprice
04. Ste I, Op.51: Intermezzo
05. Ste I, Op.51: Requiem Aeternam
06. Ste I, Op.51: Marche Nuptiale
07. Ste III, Op.54: Dedicace
08. Ste III, Op.54: Impromptu
09. Ste III, Op.54: Etoile Du Soir
10. Ste III, Op.54: Fantomes
11. Ste III, Op.54: Sur Le Rhin
12. Ste III, Op.54: Carillon De Westminster

Disc: 2
01. Ste II, Op.53: Lamento
02. Ste II, Op.53: Sicilienne
03. Ste II, Op.53: Hymne Au Soleil
04. Ste II, Op.53: Feux Follets
05. Ste II, Op.53: Clair De Lune
06. Ste II, Op.53: Toccata
07. Ste IV, Op.55: Aubade
08. Ste IV, Op.55: Resignation
09. Ste IV, Op.55: Cathedrales
10. Ste IV, Op.55: Naiades
11. Ste IV, Op.55: Gargouilles Et Chimeres
12. Ste IV, Op.55: Les Cloches De Hinckey

This 2-CD set of Vierne’s 24 Fantasy Pieces are beautifully played by organist Ben van Oosten on the appropriate Cavaille-Coll Organ of Saint-Ouen, Rouen, France. Sound recording is excellent. I find these compositions to be beautiful, accessible, and engaging. It is worth mentioning that these recordings received the prestigious Diapason d’Or award. Recommended, no reservations.

1 Comment

  1. Vielen Dank an whatever – und ganz besonderen Dank dafür, dass hier auch Free-User zum Zugen kommen!

Leave a Reply