Winpenny: Messiaen - Meditations sur le mystere de la Sainte Trinite (24/96 FLAC)
Winpenny: Messiaen – Meditations sur le mystere de la Sainte Trinite (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Olivier Messiaen
Performer: Tom Winpenny
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Naxos
Size: 1.22 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. I. Le Père inengendré
02. II. La sainteté de Jésus-Christ
03. III. La relation réelle en Dieu est réellement identique à l’essence
04. IV. Je suis, je suis!
05. V. Dieu est immense, éternel, immuable – Le souffle de l’Esprit – Dieu est Amour
06. VI. Le Fils, Verbe et Lumière
07. VII. Le Père et le Fils aiment, par le Saint Esprit, eux-mêmes et nous
08. VIII. Dieu est simple
09. IX. Je suis Celui qui suis

I cannot help feeling that the well-travelled Messiaen would have approved of the Klais organ in the Icelandic capital. It renders all the colours with forthright clarity and an atmospheric resonance..

Olivier Messiaens Méditation’s sur le Mystère de la Sainte Trinité grew out of improvisations that he performed at the inauguration of the rebuilt organ of La Trinité in 1967. It became his largest cycle to date and marks Messiaens first use of communicable language, in which each letter of the alphabet is assigned a unique pitch and note-value, thereby translating text into music. Haunting harmonies, awe-inspiring monumental grandeur and the deepest profundity of expression are contrasted by the innocence of birdsong with the recurrent call of the yellowhammer, a tranquil voice from nature amid kaleidoscopic Biblical themes.

Leave a Reply