Avi Avital - Art of the Mandolin (24/96 FLAC)
Avi Avital – Art of the Mandolin (24/96 FLAC)

Performer: Avi Avital
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
Release: 2020
Size: 0.97 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto for 2 Mandolins in G major, RV 532
01. I. Allegro
02. II. Andante
03. III. Allegro

04. Ludwig van Beethoven: Adagio for Mandolin and Harpsichord in E Flat Major, WoO 43b (Transcr. for Mandolin and Harp)

David Bruce: “Death Is a Friend of Ours” for Mandolin, Harp, Harpsichord, Theorbo, Guitar
05. I. Inside the Wave
06. II. The Death of Despair
07. III. Death Is a Friend of Ours

08. Giovanni Sollima: Prelude for Mandolin

Domenico Scarlatti: Sonata in D Minor, Kk. 89
09. I. Allegro (Transcr. for Mandolin and Basso continuo)
10. II. Grave (Transcr. for Mandolin and Basso continuo)
11. III. Allegro (Transcr. for Mandolin and Basso continuo)

Paul Ben-Haïm: Sonata a Tre for Mandolin, Guitar, Harpsichord
12. I. Allegro aperto
13. II. Lentamente recitando
14. III. Lo stesso movimento

Hans Werner Henze: Carillon, Récitatif and Masque for Mandolin, Guitar, Harp
15. I. Carillon. Allegretto
16. II. Récitatif. Adagio
17. III. Masque

‘Art of the Mandolin’ is Avi Avital’s first recording program consisting exclusively of pieces originally written for the mandolin. His personal take on the best existing repertoire for the instrument, and a showcase presentation of the fullest spectrum of its expressive potential. From Vivaldi’s Concerto for Two Mandolins in G Major through Beethoven’s seldom-performed Adagio in E-flat Major to contemporary pieces commissioned over the last few years by Avi himself – works by composers like Antonio Vivaldi, Domenico Scarlatti, Ludwig van Beethoven, Paul Ben-Haim, David Bruce, Giovanni Sollima, Hans Werner Henze. This project represents a return to the heart of the instrument from a very long journey, which had Avi and his mandolin travel to the terrain of the violin, the harpsichord, the flute.

Leave a Reply