Berry: Pott - At First Light, Word (24/96 FLAC)
Berry: Pott – At First Light, Word (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Francis John Dolben Pott
Performer: Joseph Spooner, Tim Ambrose, Heather Thomas
Orchestra: Commotio
Conductor: Matthew Berry
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Naxos
Size: 2.56 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

At First Light
01. I. Requiem aeternam dona eis Domine
02. II. Generatio praeterit et generatio advenit
03. III. Daybreak
04. IV. Laudibus in sanctis Dominum celebrate supremum
05. V. This Day Has Ended
06. VI. We Follow the Dead to Their Graves
07. VII. God of Compassion Who Dwells on High

08. I. Prelude
09. II. In the Beginning Was the Word, and the Word Was with God
10. III. In the Beginning Was the Word. What Word?
11. IV. What Has Come into Being in Him Was Life
12. V. I Have Seen the Sun Break Through
13. VI. He Was in the World, and the World Came into Being Through Him
14. VII. And to One God Says, Come to Me by Numbers and Figures
15. VIII. You Must Put Your Knowledge Off and Come to Me with Your Mind Bare
16. IX. But to All Who Received Him, Who Believed in His Name
17. X. It’s a Long Way Off
18. XI. And the Word Became Flesh and Lived Among Us
19. XII. Epilogue
20. XIII. Enough That We Are on Our Way
21. XIV. And the Word Became Flesh and Lived Among Us

Francis Pott’s acclaimed musical voice is one of uncommon eloquence and seriousness of purpose, and his works have been performed and broadcast in over 40 countries. This recording presents world premiere recordings of two major pieces. At First Light is a memorial work which takes the form of a series of slow meditations surrounding an exuberant motet, with wordless commentary from a lamenting cello. Word, with its significant role for the organ and the inclusion of texts by the Welsh priest and poet R.S. Thomas, reveals Gospel contemplation in a postmodern world.

Leave a Reply