Elgar - The Dream of Gerontius, Sea Pictures (24/96 FLAC)
Elgar – The Dream of Gerontius, Sea Pictures (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Edward Elgar
Performer: BBC Symphony Chorus, Sarah Connolly, Stuart Skelton, David Soar
Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Sir Andrew Davis
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Chandos
Size: 1.42 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Sea Pictures, Op. 37
Song Cycle for Contralto and Orchestra
01. 1. Sea-Slumber- Song. Andantino – Tranquillo – Tempo I – Tranquillo
02. 2. In Haven (Capri). Allegretto
03. 3. Sabbath Morning at Sea. Moderato – Più mosso – Più mosso – Tempo I – Molto maestoso
04. 4. Where Corals Lie. Allegretto ma non troppo
05. 5. The Swimmer. Allegro di molto – Largamente – Poco meno mosso – Tempo I – Largamente

The Dream of Gerontius, Op. 38
by Cardinal Newman
set to Music for Mezzo-soprano, Tenor, and Bass Soli, Chorus and Orchestra

Part I
06. Prelude. Lento, mistico
07. Gerontius: ‘Jesu, Maria – I am near to death’
08. Assistants: ‘Kyrie eleïson’
09. Gerontius: ‘Rouse thee, my fainting soul, and play the man’
10. Assistants: ‘Be merciful, be gracious’ spare him, Lord’
11. Gerontius: ‘Sanctus fortis, Sanctus Deus’
12. Gerontius: ‘I can no more; for now it comes again’
13. Assistants: ‘Rescue him, O Lord, in this his evil hour’
14. Gerontius: ‘Novissima hora est; and I fain would sleep’
15. The Priest: ‘Proficiscere, anima Christiana
16. Assistants: ‘Go, in the name of Angels and Archangels’ de hoc mundo!’

Also available:  Evgeni Finkelstein - Sonata (APE)

Part II
17. Introduction. Soul of Gerontius: ‘I went to sleep; and now I am refresh’d’
18. Angel: ‘My work is done’
19. Soul of Gerontius: ‘It is a member of that family’
20. Soul of Gerontius: ‘I ever had believed’
21. Soul of Gerontius: ‘But hard! upon my sense comes a fierce hubbub’
22. Demons: ‘Low-born clods of brute earth’
23. Demons: ‘The mind bold and independent’
24. Soul of Gerontius: ‘I see not those false spirits’
25. Choir of Angelicals: ‘Praise to the Holiest in the height’
26. Choir of Angelicals: ‘Glory to Him, who evermore by truth and justice reigns’
27. Soul of Gerontius: ‘But hark! a grand, mysterious harmony’
28. Choir of Angelicals: ‘Praise to the Holiest in the height’
29. Angel: ‘Thy judgment now is near’
30. Angel of the Agony: ‘Jesu! by that shuddering dread which fell on Thee’
31. Soul of Gerontius: ‘I go before my Judge’
32. Angel: ‘…Praise to His Name!’
33. Soul of Gerontius: ‘Take me away, and in the lowest deep there let me be’
34. Souls in Purgatory: ‘Lord, Thou hast been our refuge: in every generation’
35. Angel: ‘Softly and gently, dearly-ransom’d soul’
36. Prelude, concert version

Recorded at Fairfield Halls, Croydon, 3 – 5 April, 2014.

Leave a Reply